Open streets, open minds?

More than a year ago, I decided to head up to Paseo de la Reforma on Sunday and take some photos. I was going through one of those phases where I thought I should use my camera more – and that if I did so, I’d naturally become a photographer. The next Henri Cartier-Bresson!

So far, no one’s confusing us.

But, now a year later, those photos have served some personal purpose (i.e. thing that got me paid). My images captured one of Mexico City’s best-loved public programs: Muévete en Bici, an initiative which allows bikers, runners, and skaters to rule Reforma most Sundays. No cars, buses, etc. allowed! I wrote about the program for the new and pretty-damn-original website The Atlantic Cities, which covers urban planning and development issues all over the world.

Most of the time, Mexico City’s a miserable place for moving around. But the city is taking proactive steps to alter commuter habits. Here’s one that not only inspires change – by hopefully both creating a new generation of young urban cyclists and converting adults to urban cycling – it’s disguised as an opportunity for leisure and family time.


Leave a Reply

